PDA

View Full Version : Most powerful females in fantasy fiction

seridrl
05-03-2014, 02:20 PM
Who are the most powerful females in fiction? By powerful I mean things you personally possess the ability to do and would use in a fight. Whether that be physical power, or magical power, elemental manipulation etc, but not political power or tech that you have at your disposal.

I know there are quite a lot of powerful females in Discworld, but beyond that I have little knowledge beyond the usual Tolkien and Harry Potter ladies.

Primetime Harder
05-03-2014, 04:31 PM
The first two that come to mind are Mab and Titania, the faerie queens from the Dresden Files. Mondo mama magic.

zhris
05-03-2014, 04:33 PM
I'd say Gaiman's Death. She's stopped squabbles between hi-level cosmic entities just by showing up.

Hazard
05-03-2014, 06:32 PM
I guess you have all the DC super fast bricks like Power Girl or Wonder Woman.

On the less well known side you have, Athena from Saint Seiya, who is a goddess in a universe where gods cause worldwide floods while not a full power, move planets with their minds, and create entire universes filled with galaxies. While Athena is not big on combat, she is usually the one who ends up sealing or kill the gods who do the mentioned things.

You also have L-sama from Slayers, the omnipotent creator of said multiverse.

Primetime Harder
05-03-2014, 06:39 PM
Speaking of goddesses, there's also Lolth and Mystra from Forgotten Realms (and all the other goddesses too, but they get the most 'screen' time by far). Oh, and Takhisis from Dragonlance.

And if you want to dip below the realm of godhood, there's also Polgara the Sorceress. You do NOT want to piss her off.

Awesome-X
05-03-2014, 06:45 PM
Well, in my opinion, Nemesis (Infinity Being/Marvel) should be near the top, as she has the full power of the Infinity Gauntlet.

http://www.comicvine.com/nemesis/4005-68699/

Yeoman
05-03-2014, 06:45 PM